The vote on the motion was taken after an agreement was reached with President Maithripala Sirisena yesterday to amend the original motion which was submitted by the Janatha Vimukthi Peramuna (JVP) this week. The agreement was also to conduct the vote using the electronic voting system or to call by name.However opposition leader R. Sampanthan said that as Government Parliamentarians were protesting and as the electronic voting system or a vote by name could not be conducted, a voice vote was taken for the second time this week and the motion was passed. A motion on no-confidence on Prime Minister Mahinda Rajapaksa, was passed in Parliament with an amendment today.The motion was passed as a tense situation arose in Parliament with Government Parliamentarians protesting and occupying the Speaker’s seat. The original motion refers to the gazette notice issued by the President on October 26th but the amendment removes that part. Jathika Hela Urumaya leader Patali Champika Ranawaka said that the no-confidence motion was passed legally, in line with what was expected by the President.He said that the no-confidence motion was passed with 122 votes for and zero against it. (Colombo Gazette) read more